Six Dot’s = An alphabet   8 comments

The English language has evolved from Anglo-Saxon words. They provided a base of common words namely common animal, auxiliary words, mostly pronouns. The other modern words have developed from various other sources, which were borrowed or adopted from other literary databases, words created over a period of time which doesn’t have a base (e.g. Isaac Newton gave Centrifugal, Ben Johnson gave Damp and the most eminent of all writers Shakespeare have formed and used more than 1600 words which includes fashionable, sanctimonious, countless, critical, excellent, lonely, majestic, obscene. However despite his unquestionable contribution, there has been a debate on the claims of word coinage, as academicians are still not sure whom to credit for the creating it. Words and phrases coined into the most remarkable of his phrases ever written by Shakespeare, was actually a mere debut of the different permutations in one’s writing.

When we talk about words, though a word itself sounds remarkable and could be used to describe a person, a place, a situation, a feeling. Words which we hear and which can be read by us.

This blog is not about its origin but it’s a tribute to the people whose passion for words and knowledge has lead to the most important inventions in life or literature itself. The “Braille Alphabets”.

A combination of 6 dots that when used under different combinations mean different and sound different. The touch of those dots where the reader feels every single word is something we sighted people have missed it.

As quoted by Jim Fiebig “There is a wonder in reading Braille that the sighted will never know: to touch words and have them touch you back.”

This system of Braille was invented by Louis Braille and officially recognized by the French government in the year 1854. Prior to Louis Braille, it was Valentin Hauy had dedicated his life and resources to the education of blind children and also developed a method to print books with raised letters.

A remarkable feat was achieved with the Braille technique which was developed by an individual who knew the challenges himself (L. Braille had lost his sight at a young age) and yet didn’t give up.

Posted September 25, 2010 by aropkp in Uncategorized

8 responses to “Six Dot’s = An alphabet

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When are you going to post again? You really inform me!

  2. Fantastic blog! I actually love how it’s easy on my eyes as well as the info are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which need to do the trick! Have a nice day!

  3. Hello, I found your website from mixx. This isn’t not an article I would typically read, but I loved your thoughts on it. Thank you for creating a blog post worth reading!

  4. Hi there, just stumbled on your web site from stumbleupon. It is not blog post I would regularly read, but I liked your thoughts on it. Thanx for making an article worth reading!

  5. Hi there, I stumbled on your page from digg. It’s not something I would typically read, but I liked your spin on it. Thanks for creating an article worth reading!

  6. Hi, I ran into this page from mixx. This isn’t not something I would normally read, but I liked your perspective on it. Thank you for creating a piece worth reading!

  7. Hey, I hopped over to this web site from stumbleupon. It is not something I would normally read, but I liked your perspective on it. Thank you for creating an article worth reading!

  8. Hello, just found this web site from digg. It is not something I would normally read, but I loved your spin on it. Thank you for creating something worth reading!

Leave a Reply

