Archive for the ‘ICC 2011 WORLD CUP’ Tag

For the love of the game…   Leave a comment

For Indians, though the national game is Hockey. But undoubtedly and equivocally the entire country can vote that Cricket is the most ought game in this country of millions, where emotions soar and cheers roar for the MEN IN BLUE.

This time around its time for the million Indians to cheer for their beloved team who have finally made it to the finals and tomorrow is the D Day.

There are few memories that come along every time we talk about India and the ICC World Cup. Starting with the third World Cup in the year 1983, also known as the Prudential Cup, where India beat West Indies by 43 runs to stop them from claiming their 3rd consecutive title. Lords witnessed the rise of a cricketing nation.

In 1987, team India topped Group A with 5.41 RR and 20 points. They played against England in the semifinals. Chasing a total of target of 254, India were at 5/204 at the end of 40th over, needing 5 runs an over from the last 10 overs, with 5 wickets in hand, and it looked like it would be a very close game. Failing to capitalize the opportunity, the middle order collapsed and the tail enders followed them soon as India lost 5 wickets for 15 runs. India were eventually bowled all out for 219 (all out, 45.3 overs).

In 1992, India’s performance was a mix of mediocrity and bad luck. With their match against Sri Lanka being forfeited due to heavy rain and then they losing to Australia by a run for the 2nd time in World Cup history. They ended by 7th, over Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

In 1996, is much known for the crowd’s uproar at Eden Garden Calcutta. India meeting Sri Lanka for the 2nd time. Having lost the first match to Sri Lanka earlier in the group match where Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets. This time India failed to chase a total of 251 set by the Lankan’s and with 120/8 on board, the disappointed crowd went unruly disrupting the game. The match was forfeited and awarded in Sri Lanka’s favor. This was the 3rd of this type for them, as the earlier two teams Australia and Wet Indies cancelled the matches due the security reasons.

Year 2003, a great year that the Indian Cricket team, all eyes set on them. The Men in Blue, were the most favorite team. They played great and on their way to finals they had lost one match. They also had a match with Sri Lanka, and they defeated them by a 183 runs. As India was destined for their finals, against the only team they lost to. It was Australia and this time again, the result were same. India failed to deliver under Australia’s pressure, letting them win the cup by 125 runs, when India failed to chase 359/2 and managed to get 234.

Following was 2007, the worst of its kind. India didn’t qualify for the super 8 stage. Bangladesh created the biggest upset by defeating India by 5 wickets in the group B match and they also lost to Sri Lanka by 69 runs.

Year 2011, India is in the finals against Sri Lanka.

This might be and will be Sachin’s last world cup. Will he be able to add this missing achievement to his list of records and achievements?

    Facts n Figures:

First ODI @ Wankhede Stadium: 17 January 1987, India vs Sri Lanka (India won by 10 runs)
Last ODI @ Wankhede Stadium: 18 March 2011, Sri Lanka vs New Zealand (Sri Lanka won by 112 runs)
5 World Cup matches have been hosted here. Team batting first has won 4 times and once by the team batting second, that was India who won by 8 wickets playing against Zimbabwe in 1987.
India and Sri Lanka have both 1 match each in world cup fixture till date.
India has played 14 ODI’s here, compared to 4 played by Sri Lanka.
India has won 8 of the 14, 4 times batting first and batting second.
Sri Lanka has won 2 of the 4 matches, once each batting and bowling first.
India and Sri Lanka, have already met twice at this venue, each wining one match.

    Head 2 Head

Total Matches played – 128
Wins: India 67 / Sri Lanka 50
No Results: 11
Tied: 0
Home wins: India 28 / Sri Lanka 26
Away wins: India 19 / Sri Lanka 11
Highest Total chased: India won by 7 wickets on Dec 23 2009, Target Chased: 315 / Sri Lanka won by 3 wickets on Dec 17 2009, Target Chased: 301
Most Prolific Batsman: Sachin Tendulkar 2965 runs / Sanath Jayasuriya 2899 runs
Highest Individual Score: MS Dhoni 183 runs / Sanath Jayasuriya 189 runs
Best Bowling Analysis: Ashish Nehra 6/59, Aug 08 2005 / Muttiah Muralidaran 7/30, Oct 26 2000
Most Prolific Bowler: Harbhajan Singh 60 wickets / Muttiah Muralidaran 74 wickets

So what can you predict from here, its hard. So lets keep cheering for the Men In Blue.

See you all at Wankhede Stadium.


Posted April 1, 2011 by aropkp in ICC, Just a thought, Sports

Tagged with

%d bloggers like this: